Connect with us


Throwback: Photos of Nigerian Military Leaders



Thursdays are meant for throwback on social media which bring us to the list of Nigerian military leaders till date.

Remembering our leaders who ruled in khaki uniform on a day like this brings back the memories of their lifestyle, government policies, and so on.

Here are photos of Nigerian military leaders;

  1. Major General Agunyi Ironsi: Aguiyi-Ironsi was the first military ruler. He spent 194 days as Nigeria’s military head of state.

    Major General Aguiyi-Ironsi

  2. General Yakubu Gowon: Yakubu Gowon was in office for 8 years (1st of August 1966- July 29th 1975)

    General Gowon Yakubu

  3. General Murtala Mohammed: He spent 199 days (29 July 1975-13 February 1976) in office as he was assassinated.

    General Murtala Mohammed


    4.  Major General Olusegun Obasanjo: He ruled for 3 years (13 February 1976- 1, October 1979) before he resigned.

    General Olusegun Obasanjo

    5. General Muhammadu Buhari: He was in office from December 31st 1983 to August 27 1985 before he was deposed.

    General Muhammadu Buhari

    6. General Ibrahim Babangida: The Niger State born military man ruled from 27 August 1985 to 26 August 1993.

    General Ibrahim Babangida

    7. General Sani Abacha: He was in office from 17 November 1993 to 8 June 1998 when he died in office.

    General Sani Abacha

    8. General Abdusalami Abubakar: He was in office from 8, June 1998 before handing to a democratic president on May 29, 1999.

    General Abdulsalami Abubakar


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: