Connect with us

Inside OGUN

Brief About The Creation Of Ogun State



Ogun State was created from the old Western State on February 3, 1976 by the then regime of General Murtala Mohammed. It has Abeokuta as it’s capital and largest city.

Located in South Western Nigeria, Ogun State covers 16,762 square kilometres. It borders Lagos State to the south, Oyo and Osun states to the North, Ondo State to the east and the Republic of Benin to the west. 

Read Also: Bandits May Soon Kidnap El-Rufai, Masari & Two Other Governors- Deji Adeyanju

Ogun State thus has the highest number of registered universities in Nigeria (nine in all) with five new private universities also in the state.


Sodeke (Shodeke), a hunter and leader of the Egba refugees who fled from the disintegrating Oyo empire, founded about 1830 a principality at Abeokuta in what is now the north-central part of the state.

Most of the inhabitants of Ogun state are members of the Egba and Egbado subgroups of the Yoruba people.

Read Also: God will give Nigeria another president like Buhari in 2023 – Ebonyi Governor Dave Umahi prays

Ogun State is made up of six ethnic groups viz, the Egba, the Ijebu, the Remo, the Egbado, the Awori and the Egun. The language of the majority of the people of Ogun State is Yoruba but this is however broken into scores of dialects..

Places to visit in the State: Olumo Rock in Abeokuta, Birikisu Sugbo Shrine at Oke-Eri, Yemoji Natural Swimming Pool at Ijebu-Ode, Oyan Dam in Abeokuta North, Iwopin Boat Regatta and Ebute-Oni in Ogun Waterside. Others sities are Madam Tinubu Shrine, Abeokuta; Oronna Shrine, Ilaro.
Area J4 Forest Reserve; Tongeji Island, Ipokia. Old Manse at Ogbe,Abeokuta; St.James Anglican School, Ota and Ijamido River Shrine,Ota.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: