Connect with us

Inside OGUN

All You Need To Know About Ogun Waterside LGA



One of the twenty local government areas in Ogun State is Ogun Waterside.

The local government area is distinct as the only local government area of the state with coastlines (Bight of Benin and Lagos Lagoon).

Ogun Waterside has its headquarters at Abigi while other towns and villages in the local government include: Ilushin, Lukogbe, Iwopin, Olojumeta, Imakun Omi, Ode Omi, Ibu, Itebu Manuwa, Ibiade, Efire, Lomiro, Oni, Ayede, Igele, Ayila and Irokun among others.

An area in Ogun Waterside

The local government area has borders with the riverine communities of neighbouring states which are Ondo and Lagos States.

It is bordered by Ijebu East local government to the Northwest, Odigbo, Okitipupa and Ilaje local government areas of Ondo state to the Northeast, East and Southeast respectively, Epe local government of Lagos state to the West, and the Atlantic Ocean to the South.

The people found in this area are majorly the Ijebus, Ikales and Ilajes. They are shaped to a large extent by their amphibious environment among swamps, large water bodies such as creeks, rivers and lagoons as well as forests.

As a result of their environment, many of the people from Ogun waterside are into fishing as well as the production of gin popularly as ‘sea water’ by the local folks.

The people from this area are ruled by monarchs/kings with the title of ‘Oba’ or ‘Olojas’ among which are Oloja of Ayede, Onipe of Ibu, Lenuwa of Ode Omi, and several others.

Read Also: 5 Facts About Egun People Of Ogun State

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: